League of Wisconsin Municipalities supports future La Follette leaders

Profile photos of Curt Witynski and Gail Sumi.
Gifts to support educating public leaders will honor retiring League of Wisconsin Municipalities staff Curt Witynski (left) and Gail Sumi (right).

At its annual membership conference in October, the League of Wisconsin Municipalities unveiled generous financial gifts to honor long-time League staff and support future La Follette School students.

The Witynski Scholarship, honoring League deputy director Curt Witynski, will fund an annual scholarship of $10,000 for a student pursuing a La Follette MPA or MIPA degree. In honor of Gail Sumi, League member engagement and communications director, the League will fund an annual gift of $2,000 to support the La Follette-facilitated Wisconsin Women in Government Leadership Seminar.

“The goal of both of these tributes is to encourage talented professionals to pursue careers and leadership within government service that follows in the footsteps of Curt and Gail who devoted so much time and energy to bettering our local communities,” said Jerry Deschane, executive director of the League of Wisconsin Municipalies. Both Witynski and Sumi will retire at the end of 2022.

“It is essential that public policy education remains affordable and accessible,” said La Follette School Director and Professor Susan Webb Yackee. “The Witynski Scholarship will directly support a future leader in public policy and enable the La Follette School to continue to provide high-value education that promotes evidence-based policymaking. Moreover, the annual gift to Wisconsin Women in Government will allow us to continue to offer this unique and rewarding leadership program that gives women the opportunity to learn from their peers and public policy faculty in a truly interactive way.”

– Written by Carlos Puga

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter