Alumni updates – April 2024

Wesley Sparkman hands a plaque to Tom Loftus at a reception.
Tom Loftus (MA ’72) (left) receives the Alumni of Distinction Award from last year’s winner, Wesley Sparkman (MPA ’00) (right).

Tom Loftus (MA ’72) won the 2024 Alumni of Distinction Award for his outstanding contributions to the La Follette School and his societal impact through his career and service. The award was presented at the April 16 40th Anniversary Reception for alumni and supporters of the school. A graduate of the La Follette School’s predecessor, the Center for the Study of Public Policy and Administration, Loftus led the 1983 legislative charge to create the La Follette School. He has served as a member of the Wisconsin legislature, as the U.S. Ambassador to the Kingdom of Norway, and as the political and diplomatic advisor to the Director General of the World Health Organization.

Peter Barca (MA ’82) announced he will run for Wisconsin’s 1st Congressional District. A former state representative who served in Congress 30 years ago, Barca was appointed as Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue by Governor Tony Evers in January 2019, where he served until stepping down earlier this month.

Roberto Dall’Asta (MIPA ’06) was promoted to vice president and assistant general counsel at Hyatt Hotels Corporation, where he has worked since 2018. After completing his MPA in 2006, Dall’Asta received his J.D. from the University of Wisconsin Law School.

Alexis MacDonald (MPA ’08) received a Special Recognition Award from Disabled American Veterans. The award was presented by the DAV legislative team in a ceremony in April. MacDonald works as staff director for the House Veterans’ Affairs Subcommittee on Health in Washington, D.C.

Karole Dachelet (MPA ’15) was promoted to data analytics manager at Maiker Housing Partners, a public housing authority in Adams County, Colorado. Before joining Maiker, Dachelet held positions at the City and County of Denver and Denver Public Schools.

Don Eggert (MPA ’15) was selected for a career-broadening GS-15 detail to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). As the agency budget officer and chief of the Budget Branch in the Financial Management Division, he is leading the budget formulation team in the development of ATF’s FY 2026 budget request and the execution team in the implementation of its recently enacted FY 2024 budget.

Julianna Stohs (MIPA ’17) started a new position as senior program manager for Eurasia at the nonprofit International Republican Institute, where she has worked since 2021. Previously, she worked as an assistant program officer, Eurasia for the National Endowment for Democracy.

Paige Anderson (certificate in public policy ’20) started a new position as legislative liaison for the Minnesota Department of Human Services. Previously, Anderson worked as chief of staff for Representative Kristina Shelton in the Wisconsin State Assembly.

Emma Heins (MPA ’22) joined Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers as he signed Senate Bills 791 and 792 into law. These bills will allow for expansion of EV charging across Wisconsin. Heins works as a policy manager at the Electrification Coalition, an organization that develops strategies to facilitate the widespread adoption of electric vehicles.

Share your alumni update