Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

Dennis Dresang

Support the Dresang Fund

Donors who gave $500 or more before the end of 2012 were recognized on a plaque presented to Dennis Dresang on February 6, 2014. Contributions can be made anytime to this scholarship fund for La Follette School students.

Give online / Learn more

News about the fund

Second recipient: Neupane hopes to improve lives, environment in developing countries, La Follette School News, October 14, 2013

First recipient: Stupar wants to serve public through energy analysis, La Follette School News, October 14, 2013

Institute alumni support Dresang scholarship, La Follette School News, October 6, 2009

Scholarship recognizes Dresang's dedication to Wisconsin, school, La Follette Notes, spring 2009

Founding director Dennis Dresang to retire, La Follette Notes, fall 2008

Champion of the Wisconsin Idea: Alumni, friends value Dresang's expertise, style, advice, La Follette Notes, fall 2008

The La Follette School of Public Affairs established the fund upon the 2008 retirement of professor Dennis Dresang, a Professor of Public Affairs and Political Science at the University of Wisconsin–Madison for nearly 40 years. He earned a bachelor’s degree in international studies from the University of Wisconsin in 1964, then he returned to campus in 1969 after receiving a doctorate in political science from the University of California, Los Angeles. He taught public management for the University of Wisconsin’s Center for Development, which trained mid-level civil servants from developing nations and Americans interested in development careers. After directing the Wisconsin Employment Relations Study Commission in 1976-77, Dresang became Associate Director of the Center for the Study of Public Policy and Administration in 1977 and facilitated the transition of the center into the La Follette Institute of Public Affairs in 1983-84. The Center for Development became part of the La Follette School of Public Affairs when it created its Master of International Public Affairs degree in 1999-2000.

The Dennis Dresang fund provides scholarships for graduate students pursuing degrees in domestic and international public affairs. The ultimate intention of this fund is to grow it into an endowment.

Founding Donors

  • Anthony Earl
  • Mark Hadley
  • Mark W. Huddleston
  • La Follette Institute Alumni Association
  • Ronald S. Luskin and M. Therese Ruzicka
  • Northwestern Mutual Foundation
  • Eric and Paul Stanchfield
  • Kathy Sykes
  • Eric Tempelis
  • Melinda Tempelis
  • Peter Tempelis
  • Michael Youngman

Sustaining Donors

  • Alice Christianson
  • Lee Dresang and Kari Bloedel
  • Robin J. Erdmann
  • Robert and Susan Trice

Supporting Donors

  • Carolyn and Kurt Heinrich
  • Brenda Mayrack
  • Patricia Meloy
  • Kurt and Jeanine Thurmaier
  • Robert Vining