Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

UW-Madison – March 22-23, 2018

A Study of the Rulemaking Life Cycle in Three Agencies: Natural Selection meets the APA?
Presenters: Wendy E. Wagner, Richard Dale Endowed Chair in Law, Texas Law School; William West, Professor and Sara Lindsey Chair, Bush School, Texas A&M University
Discussant: John K.M. Ohnesorge, George Young Bascom Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Revolving Doors
Presenter: Janna Rezaee, Assistant Professor, Price School of Public Policy, University of Southern California
Discussant: David Gerard, John R. Kimberly Distinguished Professor in the American Economic System, Lawrence University

Wins and Losses at OIRA: With Insights into Real-World Regulatory Processes
Presenter: John D. Graham, Dean, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University
Moderator: Susan Webb Yackee, Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Political Science & Public Affairs, UW-Madison

Federal Agency Guidance and the Power to Bind: An Empirical Study of Agencies and Industries
Presenter: Nicholas R. Parrillo, Professor of Law, Yale Law School
Discussant: Miriam Seifter, Assistant Professor of Law, UW–Madison

Regulatory Bundling
Presenter: Jennifer Nou, Neubauer Family Assistant Professor of Law, University of Chicago Law School
Discussant: David Zaring, Associate Professor of Legal Studies & Business Ethics; Wharton School, University Pennsylvania

The Negative Politics of Distributive Policymaking: U.S. Federal Grants and the Contraction of Administrative Authority
Presenters: George A. Krause, Alumni Foundation Distinguished Professor of Public Administration Professor of Public Administration and Policy, University of Georgia; Jennifer Selin, Kinder Institute Assistant Professor of Constitutional Democracy, University of Missouri
Discussants: Charles Shipan, J. Ira and Nicki Harris Professor of Social Sciences, University of Michigan; Susan Moffitt, Associate Professor of Political Science and International and Public Affairs, Brown University

Rulemaking & President Trump
Presenters: Scott R. Furlong, Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, SUNY-Oswego; Cornelius M. Kerwin, Professor and former President, American University
Moderator: Jason Webb Yackee, Professor of Law, UW–Madison

Conference Co-Organizers
Jason Webb Yackee; Professor of Law, UW–Madison
Susan Webb Yackee; Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Political Science & Public Affairs, UW-Madison

UW Scholar Participants
Don Moynihan, Professor of Public Affairs, UW–Madison
Stephanie Tai; Associate Professor of Law, UW–Madison
David Weimer; Edwin E. Witte Professor of Political Economy, UW–Madison
Devin Judge-Lord, Doctoral Student in Political Science, UW–Madison

Wisconsin State Government Participants
Scott Grosz, Principal Attorney, and Margit Kelley, Senior Staff Attorney, Wisconsin Legislative Council