Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

>> Election 2020: A Spotlight on Policy


One of the La Follette School’s most visible outreach activities is its annual symposium on a public policy issue of interest to campus and community members alike. Generally held each spring, the symposium features high-profile scholars on topics ranging from government efficiency to family financial security.

For one week each semester, the La Follette School also partners with the School of Journalism and Mass Communication to host a Public Affairs Writer in Residence. The writers, including Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists as well as up-and-coming reporters, speak with students, faculty, and community members during classes and public discussions.

In addition, the La Follette School and the Urban Institute in Washington, D.C., present a lecture series in memory of former Wisconsin State Senator Paul Offner. Speakers have backgrounds and careers in government, research, and education – similar to Offner’s experiences.

La Follette Forum: Health Policy - Monday, March 2, 2020

Lloyd D. Gladfelter Award for Government Innovation

Paul Offner Lectures

Public Affairs Journalist in Residence

Seminar Series

Symposium

Other Events

Events: Fall 2020

Wednesday, September 30, 7 p.m.
Town Hall – Beyond Health: The Social Impacts of COVID-19

Friday, October 2, noon
Swing State: The Major Issues for Wisconsin Voters this November

Monday, October 12, 7 p.m.
Town Hall: Foreign Relations, Trade, & Policy in 2021 and Beyond

Thursday, October 29, 7 p.m.
Politics and Policy with Maggie Haberman of The New York Times

Thursday, November 12, 7 p.m.
Patrick J. Lucey: A Lasting Legacy

Seminar Series

Friday, September 18, noon
Wednesday, September 30, 12:30 p.m.
Monday, October 12, noon
Wednesday, October 21, 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 11, 12:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, December 2, 12:30 p.m.