Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Yackee elected to public management group's board of directors

Yackee elected to public management group's board of directors

Public Management Research Association (PMRA) members have elected La Follette School Professor Susan Webb Yackee to the organization's Board of Directors. Yackee will begin her four-year term following the PMRA Conference from June 8 to 10 at American University, Washington, D.C.

Lotte Bøgh Andersen of Aarhus University and three others also join the Board. Andersen visited UW–Madison in spring 2016, when she presented the seminar Leadership, Motivation and Organizational Performance: A Field Experiment.

La Follette School Director and Professor Don Moynihan will conclude his two-year term as PMRA president at the conference as well. Moynihan will present a workshop on Designing Public Sector Performance and will participate in a panel discussion with Andersen and two other Aarhus faculty members on The Missing Link between Transformational Leadership and Performance Expectations: Internal Communication Climate in Different Structural Contexts.

PMRA is a nonprofit academic membership association that furthers research on public organizations and their management. It serves as a voice for the public management research community and sponsors two journals – the Journal of Public Administration Research & Theory (JPART) and Perspectives in Public Management & Governance.

Earlier this year, Yackee and co-author Christine Palus of Villanova University won PMRA's Beryl Radin Award for Best Article in JPART published during 2016. The winning paper, “Clerks or Kings? Partisan Alignment and Delegation to the US Bureaucracy,” examines the role of partisanship in narrowing the perceived policy authority available to politically like-minded agency officials.

Yackee is a professor of public affairs and political science, and director of the La Follette School Board of Visitors. She joined UW–Madison in 2007 and received her master’s and doctorate degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.