Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

News: Kohl Initiative

The La Follette School has partnered with the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Ideas Lab and Wisconsin Public Radio to create the Wisconsin Main Street Agenda project, which will focus news coverage on public policy issues in the months leading up to the November elections.

In May 2022, scholars in economic policy and governance, speakers from private industry, and national experts convened to discuss American power, prosperity, and democracy at the third annual La Follette Forum.

Three years ago, the La Follette School received its largest gift in school history – a $10 million donation from former U.S. Senator Herb Kohl known as the Kohl Initiative.

Jamelle Bouie of The New York Times and CBS News and Catherine Rampell of The Washington Post will join other experts in economic policy and international relations at the La Follette School’s third annual Forum, American Power, Prosperity & Democracy, on May 4 at Monona Terrace.


Friday, March 18, 2022

2022 Kohl Award Winners announced

The Kohl Competition supports nonpartisan research that policymakers can use to make evidence-based decisions about how to solve the big problems we face as a society.

Jon Leibowitz, former chair of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the La Follette School’s first ever Policymaker in Residence, covered a lot of ground during his campus visit October 18 to 20. Literally.

See with understanding.

Affirm with insight.

Critique with care.

These were the central themes of “Politics and Policy with David Brooks,” the La Follette School’s fall Journalist in Residence event, on October 27.

Jon Leibowitz, chair of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) from 2009 to 2013, will serve as the La Follette School’s first Policymaker in Residence in October. Leibowitz received his bachelor’s degree in American history from UW–Madison and his doctor of law degree from the New York University School of Law.

Four La Follette School alumni will be featured as panelists at the La Follette Forum: Climate Policy on Wednesday, Oct. 6. The daylong conference also brings a diversity of voices, including youth, to one of the most important issues across the globe.

The La Follette School is hosting writer and commentator David Brooks on Wednesday, October 27. Free general-admission tickets for the presentation, Policy and Politics with David Brooks, are available via the Memorial Union Box Office.

Page 1 of 4