Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

News: Faculty

La Follette School Professor Greg Nemet will participate on a panel discussing How Should Wisconsin Leaders Tackle Climate Change during Cap Times Idea Fest 2020 on Saturday, Oct. 3. Former Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk will moderate the event, which begins at 1 p.m. 

In the years following a fatal school shooting, children attending the school where the shooting occurred experience a substantial increase in antidepressant use, according to a study by La Follette School Assistant Professor Sam Trejo and colleagues published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).

As the United States faces its most serious challenges in recent history, UW–Madison’s La Follette School of Public Affairs is offering a series of livestreamed events leading up to the Nov. 3 election.

Without an infusion of new federal assistance, the nation’s largest central cities will experience large drops in revenue due to the COVID-19 pandemic according to a research paper by La Follette School Professor Emeritus Andrew Reschovsky and two colleagues.

Professor Emeritus Dennis Dresang is teaching a course this fall on The History of Progressive Politics in Wisconsin through UW–Madison’s Division of Continuing Studies. The five-session weekly course begins Wednesday, September 23 and concludes October 21. Each 90-minute class begins at 7 p.m.

Three La Follette School faculty members, including Professor J. Michael Collins, served as instructors and mentors during the second Junior Scholar Intensive Training (JSIT) Summer Workshop in June.

Associate Professor Manny Teodoro will join the La Follette School faculty in August with funding from the Kohl Initiative.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Sarah Halpern-Meekin

Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, and of Public Affairs

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Jon Pevehouse

Professor of Political Science and Public Affairs

Professor Greg Nemet, Assistant Professor Morgan Edwards, and two La Follette School alumni are among a cohort that received the 2020 Research Cluster Grant from UW–Madison’s Robert F. and Jean E. Holtz Center for Science and Technology Studies.

Page 6 of 74