Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

News: Faculty

Wednesday, July 20, 2022

Remembering Geoffrey Wallace

La Follette School professor Geoffrey Wallace passed away unexpectedly on July 16. Wallace’s contributions to the La Follette School were extensive and extraordinary.

La Follette School Professors Jason Fletcher and Gregory Nemet are recipients of prestigious Vilas Awards, acknowledging their groundbreaking research, service to the UW community, and teaching.

The new Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report urges immediate action to limit greenhouse gas emissions in all sectors of the economy, including energy, transportation, construction, manufacturing, and agriculture.

La Follette School Assistant Professor Mariel Barnes was awarded a Wisconsin Idea Collaboration Grant to evaluate the effectiveness of flexible financial assistance in helping survivors of domestic violence find and maintain stable housing situations.

Friday, February 18, 2022

Smeeding receives Hilldale Award

La Follette School Professor Timothy Smeeding was selected as the recipient of the 2022 Hilldale Award in the Social Sciences.

La Follette School Assistant Professor Lauren Schmitz is a 2022-23 winner of the Vilas Associates Competition. The award funds important new and ongoing UW-Madison research.

Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Faculty receive Social Security funding

Three La Follette School faculty members received research funding from the U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA) for projects on the financial well-being of economically vulnerable families, older people, people with disabilities, low-wealth households, and children.

As a judge in the Best Tasting Tap Water in Wisconsin contest, La Follette School Professor Manny Teodoro used tried and true sommelier techniques to swirl, sniff, and taste his way through the finest H20 in the Badger state.

La Follette School Director and Professor Susan Webb Yackee is participating in’s annual Polling Summit on Thursday, Oct. 21.

Friday, October 8, 2021

Blank honored by Posse Foundation

La Follette School faculty member and outgoing UW–Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank was honored as a “Posse Star” by The Posse Foundation last month.

Page 1 of 74