Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

News: Awards

Since 2016, the La Follette School has awarded the annual Stephen F. Brenton Health Policy Scholarship to a graduate student seeking to pursue a career in the health sector. Brenton is a widely respected leader who spent his career in health policy, and whose advocacy helped shape the healthcare landscape in Wisconsin and across the nation.

Friday, October 8, 2021

Blank honored by Posse Foundation

La Follette School faculty member and outgoing UW–Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank was honored as a “Posse Star” by The Posse Foundation last month.

La Follette School Professor David Weimer has been selected to receive the inaugural Policy Field Distinguished Contribution Award from the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM). 

Patrick J. Lucey: A Lasting Legacy by Professor Emeritus Dennis Dresang was honored by the Midwest Independent Publishers Association (MiPA) on June 26. The book, published by the Wisconsin Historical Society Press, received the gold medal in the nonfiction – biography category.

Wisconsin Sen. Mary Felzkowski and Rep. Shelia Stubbs, on behalf of members of the Wisconsin State Legislature, honored long-time La Follette School Senior Outreach Specialist Bridget Carr Pirsch during the Wisconsin Women in Government (WWIG) Scholarship and Recognition Gala in April.

The 2021 recipients of the Herb Kohl Public Service Research Competition are La Follette School faculty members Yang Wang, Barbara Wolfe, Manuel P. Teodoro, and Mark Copelovitch. The Kohl Competition supports nonpartisan research that informs critical public policy and governance debates and advances evidence-based decision-making.

Reed Lei, assistant professor of public affairs and political science, received the Jerry and Mary Cotter Faculty Fellow award this spring.

UW–Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank, a La Follette School faculty member, has been named a 2021 Distinguished Fellow by the American Economic Association, one of four economists to receive the honor this year.

La Follette School faculty members Jason Fletcher, Yang Wang, and Christine Durrance received funding to support their research from UW–Madison’s Understanding and Reducing Inequalities Initiative. Their projects were among only 15 selected from 73 proposals.

La Follette School Professor Philipp Koellinger recently received a Daniel Louis and Genevieve Rustvold Goldy Faculty Fellow award to fund his research about how genes influence economic behavior and how insights into the genetic architecture of behavioral outcomes can inform social and medical research.

Page 1 of 21