Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Thursday, October 17, 2013

School invites D.C.-area alumni, friends to November 7 reception

To find out more

To RSVP or learn more, e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call (608) 263-7657. For planning purposes, an RSVP is helpful but not required. It's OK to surprise us.

To connect with your classmates and encourage them to attend the reception, check the Wisconsin Alumni Association directory, or send a note to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The annual Madison reception will be Thursday, February 6, from 4:30-7 p.m. at Inn on the Park, 22 South Carroll Street.

The La Follette School invites Washington, D.C.-area alumni and friends of the school to meet students, staff and faculty at a reception on Thursday, November 7, from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at the Capitol View Business & Conference Center, 101 Constitution Avenue N.W. The reception features conversation, hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar.

Many La Follette School faculty will be in Washington for the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management's fall conference, which is in D.C. every other year. In addition, the school is sending students and three staff members to D.C. for "La Follette in D.C.," a two-day pilot career development program that includes the reception, visits to work sites to visit alumni and employers, a panel lunch, and opportunities for informational interviews.

"The school gives special thanks to 1982 alum Michael Youngman and Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance for helping to host the reception in the conference center's ninth-floor rotunda with its spectacular view of the Capitol," says director Susan Yackee. "The reception will be a great opportunity for people to network, share experiences and catch up with staff and faculty."

Faculty and staff who plan to attend include Yackee; professors Greg Nemet, Bobbi Wolfe, Bob Haveman, David Weimer, J. Michael Collins, John Witte, Tim Smeeding and Jason Fletcher; student services coordinator Mary Treleven; outreach director Terry Shelton; and outreach specialist Bridget Pirsch.