Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Thursday, July 2, 2015

Nominations sought for Gladfelter public service innovation awards

Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Lloyd D. Gladfelter Awards for Government Innovation.

More than $13,000 is available for the awards which will be given to non-elected municipal, county, state or federal workers who, through a career of work or through an innovation, have helped solve a problem for Wisconsin residents.

“We are looking for an individual or team who has come up with an innovation or had a career of exceptional service that improved public service in the state,” says Susan Yackee, director of the La Follette School of Public Affairs, which oversees the competition. “The Gladfelter Award honors the creative ideas and money-saving efficiencies people expect from government at all levels.”

Last year $4,000 was awarded for two projects.

A $2,500 award was split between Sal Carranza of the University of Wisconsin System and Tom Heffron of the Wisconsin Technical College System for their work on model legislation that simplified and sped up the production of textbooks and class materials for people with visual impairments, yet protected publishers’ profits and copyrights.

A $1,500 award was split three ways among Polk County Highway employee Emil “Moe” Norby and two Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources employees, Bob Germer and John Morris, for their discovery and use of waste cheese brine as an environmentally friendly and cost-saving substitute for expensive commercial de-icer.

Yackee emphasizes that innovation does not always include just saving money. It might also be a project or effort that addresses a public health need, educates residents on a community concern, or solves a civic problem through collaboration with a non-governmental agency.

Nominations, including self-nominations, can be made until September 14 by sending a brief (250-word maximum) description of the innovation, its rationale and impact to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Finalists will be contacted for additional documentation, with the awards announced in October.

Last modified on Monday, July 11, 2016