Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Tuesday, April 14, 2009

New officers take charge of student association

In an agency overhaul that would make the State of Wisconsin proud, the La Follette School Student Association held its elections a month early to effect its change in officers in early April rather than the end of the spring semester.

Incoming Officers

  • President: Emily Plagman
  • Vice-President: Holden Weisman
  • Treasurer: Jami Crespo
  • Secretary: Stephanie Chase
  • Community Service and Outreach Coordinator: Becky McAtee
  • Alumni Coordinator: Nate Inglis Steinfeld
  • Fundraising Coordinator: Allie Bagnall
  • Social Coordinator: Ian Ritz
  • Graduation Coordinators: Sarah Wainscott and Scott Williams
  • Program Liaison: Erika Cheng

LSSA's 2008-09 board handed over the official gavel to the next class at its meeting April 2. The new crew will hold its first meeting on Thursday, April 30, at 6:15 p.m. in a location to be determined.

The student organization tweaked its constitution in November so it could hold elections for officers a month earlier. The change makes sense, says outgoing president Lindsay Read. "First-year students can get involved sooner and have plans for fall in place before summer, and second-year board members now have more time to focus on finishing up their capstone projects and searching for jobs."

In addition to Read, outgoing officers include Vice President Lauren Benditt, Treasurer Lilly Shields and Secretary Alison Patz. Dan Bush was program liaison to the faculty. The other coordinators were Jeramia Cibulka, fund-raising; Maggie Carden, community service and outreach coordinator; Catherine Hall, social coordinator; and Andy McGuire, alumni coordinator. Gail Krumenauer and Tom Robinson were the graduation co-coordinators, but with graduation six weeks away, they are still finalizing details for the graduation celebration at the State Capitol's Assembly Chambers on May 16. They have confirmed that Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson will be the graduation speaker.

Incoming president Emily Plagman says that many of the new officers were involved with LSSA activities this year, including the policy roundtables and the silent auction at the school's reception for alumni and friends in February. "As a result of holding the elections earlier this year, we can better capture first-year student energy and interest in LSSA."

LSSA's priorities for 2009-2010 are likely to include "diversifying social, volunteer and fundraising activities, further formalizing LSSA, and increasing support for La Follette students," Plagman says. "I am looking forward to an active and fun year for LSSA and the La Follette student body."

Students organizing roundtables on environment, lobbying, food policy, nonprofits, March 19, 2009, La Follette School News