Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Wednesday, June 10, 2020

McFarlane to lead student association

Mitch McFarlane Mitch McFarlane

Mitch McFarlane, a student in the Master of Public Affairs (MPA) Program, will lead La Follette School Student Association (LSSA) for 2020-21. Graduate students elected McFarlane as vice president for the 2019-20 academic year and as president in spring 2020.

LSSA hosts social events, connects students to community service opportunities, coordinates and raises funds for the graduation celebration, and maintains an avenue for student input into the School’s graduate program. Details about getting involved are on LSSA’s webpage.

Originally from Peshtigo, Wisconsin, McFarlane received his bachelor’s degree in history from UW–Madison in 2018. He worked for an environmental nonprofit organization and the Wisconsin Historical Society before joining the La Follette School.

Other students elected for the 2020-21 LSSA Board are:

  • Eric Mueller, treasurer
  • Sarah Ebben, secretary
  • Toni Sopukeeva, diversity and inclusion coordinator
  • Alyssa Dooley, community service and outreach coordinator
  • Genevieve Caffrey, social coordinator
  • Seth Roca, graduation coordinator
  • Tamanna Akram, fundraising coordinator

Students will elect a vice president and co-coordinators from the incoming cohort this fall.