Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Tuesday, May 18, 2010

10 students join national honor society

Graduation celebrates class' achievements, contributions to public service

Farha Tahir has no doubt her classmates will take extraordinary measures to put their passion for public service to work. "When we walk across this stage, it signifies a change, a transfer of power," she told her classmates gathered in the Assembly Chamber of the Wisconsin Capitol for the La Follette School's May 15 graduation celebration. Read more ...

Students honored for academics, leadership

The La Follette School Student Association gave its inaugural Leadership Award and the faculty recognized students' academic achievements. Read more ...

Students pursue multiple degrees

This year's graduation of the La Follette School's class of 2010 marks two firsts. Students in two new dual-degree programs were among the graduating class of 45. Read more ...

In recognition of their academic and professional accomplishments, 10 members of the class of 2010 joined the La Follette School's chapter of Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society in public affairs and administration. The chapter also granted honorary membership to CBS political correspondent Jeff Greenfield, a University of Wisconsin–Madison alum and this year's commencement speaker.

"Pi Alpha Alpha recognizes outstanding scholarship and accomplishment; promotes education and practice in the art and science of public affairs; and fosters integrity, professionalism and creative performance in public service," says Scott Williams, one of the La Follette School Student Association's graduation coordinators. To enroll, a La Follette student must complete 21 credits of public affairs coursework and maintain a 3.7 grade point average.

The inducted student members are Allie Bagnall, Erika Cheng, Erin Fifield, Emma Hynes, Evan Johnson, Joanna Marks, Rebecca McAtee, Jacob Schindler, Corey Singletary and Holden Weisman.

Pi Alpha Alpha is an initiative of the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration. The Wisconsin-La Follette chapter is sponsored by the La Follette School of Public Affairs and LSSA.