Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

Each year, the La Follette School awards the annual Stephen F. Brenton Health Policy Scholarship to a graduate student seeking to pursue a career in the health sector. The scholarship was created to honor Brenton, a widely respected leader who spent his career in health policy.

A UW–Madison alumnus, Brenton was President and CEO of the influential Wisconsin Hospital Association (WHA) from 2002 to 2015. Brenton’s advocacy helped shape the healthcare landscape in Wisconsin and across the country.

The Brenton Scholarship was created and endowed with financial contributions from WHA members.

All La Follette School graduate students interested in health policy are eligible to apply for the annual award.

Brenton Scholarship recipients

2020–21: Katie Gray (MPA ’x22)

2019–20: Allison Couture (MPA ’20)

2018–19: Emily Capodarco (MPA/JD ’21)

2017–18: Mitchell Running (MPA ’17, MPH ’18)

2016–17: Joseph Bates (MPA/MPH '17) 

2015–16: Wes Robertson (MPA/MPA '16)